Go to Global Menu Go to Content Go to Quick Menu




The Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) is a regional organization founded in January 1996, with the goals of forming a forum for the presidents of leading research-oriented universities in East Asia and of carrying out mutual exchanges between the major universities in the region. Expectations are that this regional union, on the basis of common academic and cultural backgrounds among the member

universities, will contribute not only to the development of higher education and research but also to the opening up of a new era leading to cultural, economic and social progress in the East Asian region.

The AEARU membership is composed of the presidents of the leading universities in five regions of East Asia: China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan. Since its foundation in 1996, a total of 17 universities from these regions have become members of the association. A general meeting attended by all member universities, is held annually. By discussing themes of shared interest at the general meeting, AEARU members both carry out actual operations of the organization as well as deepen trust and mutual understanding among the member universities.

AEARU’s activities include workshops, student summer camps, sports competitions and events, and various types of international symposia. These activities are held throughout the year to promote mutual exchanges of ideas and information and to develop close bonds between the member universities.

Members of AEARU

  • Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) – Daejeon, South Korea
  • Fudan University – Shanghai, China
  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) – Hong Kong
  • Kyoto University – Kyoto, Japan
  • Nanjing University (NJU) – Nanjing, China
  • Osaka University – Osaka, Japan
  • Peking University – Beijing, China
  • Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) – Pohang, South Korea
  • Seoul National University (SNU) – Seoul, South Korea
  • National Taiwan University (NTU) – Taipei, Taiwan
  • Tohoku University – Sendai, Japan
  • Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech) – Tokyo, Japan
  • Tsinghua University, Beijing (THU) – Beijing, China
  • National Tsing Hua University (NTHU) – Hsinchu City, Taiwan
  • University of Science and Technology of China – Hefei, China
  • University of Tokyo – Tokyo, Japan
  • University of Tsukuba – Tsukuba, Japan
  • Yonsei University – Seoul, South Korea